Looking back on my experience in the Youth Leadership Program

Jamica is an alumni of the Youth Leadership Program and worked as an Assistant Crew Leader for Green Team last summer.  Before she joined us for our weekend trip to the White Mountains, we asked her to write about what she learned from her time her and what she brought with her.  Enjoy!

By Jamica

Heading down hill.

Heading down hill.

My name is Jamica; I am 17 years old and currently a junior at Boston Latin Academy. I joined the YLP youth on an exciting camping trip to the White Mountains in New Hampshire. It is great to be back here at the Emerald Necklace Conservancy, where my job training experience began. I worked at the ENC for a little short of a year, where I learned new things about the environment and made many lasting personal connections. One very important skill I have taken away from my experience at the ENC is listening to and cooperating with my co-workers, whether I want to or not.  Meeting new and different people can be challenging at first, but I have found that listening and cooperating can be very useful in any job setting, because it’s a skill that makes you look very professional, mature, and open-minded. It is very important to keep an open mind and try new things in the working world. This is true for my current job at the Laboure Center in South Boston where I work with children from ages 7-11, which is definitely out of my comfort zone.

I feel that working at the Emerald Necklace Conservancy has prepared me for the “real world” in more ways than one. Another essential skill I learned is the importance of being respectful to my employer. At some point in your career, you are going to disagree with what your boss says or does, but it is important to listen and take their ideas into perspective. They most likely know what they are doing and tell you to do a certain thing to help you, not to hurt you. It took me a long time to completely grasp that concept, but it truly pays off once you learn to keep your composure and do as you’re told. I also learned how to write a resume and cover letter, which is something I had never done before. I was given a lot of guidance and tips during this process that made the whole thing a breeze. I still use the same resume and cover letter today, but I update it as I go. My current boss was very impressed that I composed such a well written resume at such a young age. I am very glad that this year’s YLP crew has the chance to have the same amazing experience that I did, and will continue to develop in the working world.

Leave a Reply

